What Happens When Covid Symptoms Last for 11 Months?

It’s great, actually. Everything’s fine. Nothing excruciating to see here.

Katlyn Roberts
6 min readFeb 1, 2021

As a previously healthy and semi-vital Long-Haul Covid sufferer, I’m asking myself several key questions these days:

  1. WTFishappening?!Whywon’tthisstop?!WhatdidIdotodeservethis?!Owowowowow!
  2. By the time experts know more about the long-term effects of this, am I going to be an irreversible pile of mush? Or worse, a dead pile of mush? Seriously, what’s happening to me?
  3. Wait. …Am I someone with chronic pain now?

I got sick with Covid back in March of 2020 and my symptoms were mostly neurological rather than respiratory, which is rare for Covid but definitely not unheard of. It started with a fever, extreme fatigue, muscle aches, chills and sweats, a sore throat, pain in my ribs, a complete loss of appetite, mental confusion, brain fog, and the worst headaches of my life.

I live in Barcelona, where EMT’s were forced to be stingy with their tests early on, unable to waste one on someone who could still breathe. I was never hospitalized, but I live with doctors who were absolutely positive we were dealing with Covid. For weeks, I slept all day and night, only waking up to eat a meal or two a day, go to the…

--

--

Katlyn Roberts

Katlyn writes about history, travel, and culture… with some snark. www.KatlynRoberts.com.