Go to Porto for the Best Existential Crisis of Your Life

Legacy can be slippery…

Katlyn Roberts
11 min readOct 6, 2019
Livraria Lello in Porto, Portugal. Photo by Ivo Rainha on Unsplash

I had an existential crisis in Porto, Portugal and, I don’t want to blame specific people, but J.K. Rowling, Frida Kahlo, and Jesus Christ had a lot to do with it.

Let’s talk about legacy for a second.

Legacy is multi-layered. You can really think of it as any (or all) of the following:

  • How someone’s life and/or art and/or teachings live on and influence other people
  • How someone changes the course of history
  • Family legacy
  • Local legacy
  • Global legacy
  • The longevity of a legacy (how long someone is remembered)
  • Their living legacy, how it changes throughout their life, and how it changes when they’re gone

I gotta tell you, I try pretty hard not to think about my own legacy too much these days because the legacies of people who think too much about their legacies tend to be filled with tragedy and strife. Look at poor Alexander Hamilton, or at least Lin Manuel Miranda’s version of him, who “imagined death so much, it felt more like a memory”.

But I won’t pretend the concept isn’t constantly in the back of my mind when I travel the world…

--

--

Katlyn Roberts

Katlyn writes about history, travel, and culture… with some snark. www.KatlynRoberts.com.